Lightroom’s Auto Sync Feature

Did you know that Adobe’s Lightroom has an “Auto Sync” function? It is well hidden, so don’t feel bad if you didn’t know about it.
So what does it do? Let’s find out.


Undoubtedly, you know you can makes changes to one photo, then apply those changes to multiple photos using the Synchronize function. Well, Auto Sync, as the name implies, does this automatically, in real time as you work on your main photo. It’s kind of fun, making a change, than watching it ripple through the thumbnails automatically. It is also very handy if you are working on a series of images all shot at the same location at the same time.

Here is where you find it and how to switch it on.

Make sure you are in the Develop Module.
When you select more than one photo, the “Sync…” button automatically becomes active. Now hold down the “CTRL” key and click the Sync.. button. This “turns on” the Auto Sync function, You’ll see it as the text on the Sync.. button now reads “Auto Sync”.
From here on, any changes you make to the main photo you are working on, is automatically applied to all images you selected.

To turn this off, simple CTRL – Click the button again and the function returns to its normal state.

Cool.

Recommended

The Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 2 Book for Digital Photographers (Voices That Matter)

Lightroom 2: Streamlining your Digital Photography Process

Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 2

Share Button
This entry was posted in Lightroom Tips.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

*
*